Travel to United Kingdom

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, commonly known as the United Kingdom (UK) or Britain,[note 1][18] is a sovereign country in Europe, off the north-western coast of the continental mainland.[19][20] It comprises England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland.[21] The United Kingdom includes the island of Great Britain, the north-eastern part of the island of Ireland, and many smaller islands within the British Isles.[22] Northern Ireland shares a land border with the Republic of Ireland; otherwise, the United Kingdom is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, the North Sea, the English Channel, the Celtic Sea and the Irish Sea. The total area of the United Kingdom is 242,495 square kilometres (93,628 sq mi), with an estimated 2020 population of more than 67 million people.[23]

The United Kingdom is a constitutional monarchy and parliamentary democracy.[note 2][24][25] The capital and largest city is London, a global city and financial centre with a metropolitan area population of over 14 million. Other major cities include Birmingham, Manchester, Glasgow, Liverpool and Leeds.[26] Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland have their own devolved governments, each with varying powers.[27][28]